How I Changed My Korean Visa From C3 to F6

Some people have asked me how I processed my Korean tourist visa (C3). Honestly speaking, obtaining a Korean tourist visa is not easy. It can really be stressful because of the many requirements that you need to comply. What’s worse is that after you’ve submitted the requirements, you won’t get any assurance that your visa application will be approved. Some applicants go home with a heavy heart because their visa applications have been denied.

In my case, my visa application wasn’t that difficult or complicated because of the fact that my husband is a Korean citizen. I know most Filipino women who are married to Korean men will agree with me. Ladies, we have to thank God for our Korean husbands! If it weren’t because of them, we would have never stepped our foot into the Land of the Morning Calm. Haha!

I processed my tourist visa at the Korean Embassy in Taguig City. It only took us 3 hours to get eveything done. After 3 weeks of waiting, I finally received my C3 visa. It was attached to my Philippine passport. The embassy granted me a 90-day sojourn which means that I can stay in Korea for 90 days. If a C3 visa holder plans to extend his/her stay in Korea, he/she can apply for a visa extension at the nearest immigration office.

We arrived in Korea on April 2, 2015. I wanted to work as an English tutor but I couldn’t do it because of my visa status. Tourist visa holders are not allowed to work legally in Korea. So my husband and I decided that I should change my visa status from C3 to F6 (tourist–>spouse). We went to the immigration office in Changwon and processed my F6 visa and my alien registration card (ARC) last May 14, 2015. It’s the nearest immigration office to my in-laws’ residence in Uiryeong. On June 18, 2015, I received my ARC with an F6 visa status. I was very happy that day. With my F6 visa (spouse visa), I can now apply and work legally as an English tutor at hagwons. A hagwon is a private language academy in Korea where most foreigners like me teach English to Koreans. F6 visa needs to be renewed every year. If Harry (my husband) wants to renew my F6 visa or not is definitely up to him. He calls the shots. For this reason, I think I have to be nice to him every single day. Hahaha!

Thanks for reading my post!

InstaSize_2015_5 _ 217157

14 thoughts on “How I Changed My Korean Visa From C3 to F6

  1. Hi JihoonMommy~! Good that you got your f6 visa in a month.. In my case, I submitted my papers last April 2015 and until now I havent gotten my visa. By the way, did youhave an interview with the immigration officer? Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Gladys! 😄 When I was processing my tourist visa at the Korean embassy in Taguig, my husband was with me the entire time so the officer interviewed him instead of me. The same thing happened when we processed my F6 visa. I couldn’t speak Korean and the immigration officer couldn’t speak English so he ended up interviewing my husband who was with me. I was only sitting next to my husband and was trying to grasp everything that they were talking about.

      Like

  2. Hey JihoonMommy~
    How was it possible for you to change from tourist visa to F 6 while in Korea?? ;S I just got off the phone with an immigration officer from Seoul Immigration Office to double-check again, and she said that tourist visa can not be changed to F-6.. so I’m really wondering! I also married Korean and now staying in Korea. Thank you for your help in advance~

    Like

  3. Im married to korean.. im a tourist visa i have c3 how can i change my visa to f6 i have no baby.. becoz im so tired of always comeback in philippines i want to stay korea for my husband

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi!^^ I’m not sure if you can apply for a spouse visa in Korea without a child. Were you married in Korea? If your answer is yes, then there’s no problem applying for a spouse visa. I know someone who got married in Korea and processed her spouse visa afterwards. She was also on tourist visa when she arrived in Korea.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello~ I would like to ask for help. I invited my mother here and she obtained c-3-1 visa for 59 days only. I would like to extend her visa for 30 more days and I’m wondering what are the requirements needed both on my side and hers. My current visa is E7. Thank you very much~

    Like

  5. HELLO. CAN YOU HELP ME FOR SOMEHİNG. ? I AM FROM TURKEY AND TURKİSH PEOPLE DO NOT NEED VİSA FOR 90 DAYS. SO IF İ AM GOİNG TO KOREA NON VİSA AND İ GOT MARRİED WİTH MY BOYFRİEND. AFTER CAN İ GET F6 VİSA ? OR İ MUST BACK MY COUNTRY FOR VİSA ??

    Like

  6. Hi im gonna ask you,im planning to going korea with my son this year he has both passport so my husband suggest me that my visa needed is student visa instead an spause or tourist so is it ok please hear ur advise soon thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

